Surface Navy Association Hosts SOY Social

Norfolk, Va. (CNSL)— The Hampton Roads Chapter of the Surface Navy Association (HRSNA) and Commander, Naval Surface Force, U.S. Atlantic Fleet (COMNAVSURFLANT) recently hosted a social at the North Carolina house for SURFLANT Sailor of the Years. The social was held during SURFLANT’s week-long Sailor of the Year selection process.

Hosting the social were Capt. Cameron Ingram, Chief of Staff, COMNAVSURFLANT and President, HRSNA, Capt. (USNR Ret.) Fred Berck, Treasurer, HRSNA, and FORCM James Monroe, Force Master Chief, COMNAVSURFLANT and a member on the SNA National Board of Directors.

They were joined by former Master Chief Petty of the Navy (MCPON) Bob Walker, the third MCPON and Vice President (Retired), HRSNA, and commanding officers, executive officers, and command master chiefs from various surface warfare commands.

"First of all, I want to welcome all the surface warriors in the Atlantic Fleet. We are thrilled to have you here," said Ingram, prior to the drawing of the first door prize. "As everyone knows, these are extremely busy times for our nation, and the surface Navy is at the absolute forefront of that action. We have 52 Atlantic Fleet warships forward deployed with nearly 17,000 Sailors, a significant powerful force ready to defend our nation’s interest.

"On behalf of SURFLANT and an extremely energized HRSNA, we would like to recognize today our men and women who are command Sailors of the Year from the northeast region down to Texas. They are the best of the best, and the reason why the Navy is at forefront of action."

Before the winners in the first wave of door prizes could be announced, Monroe reiterated Ingram’s comments.

"We want to thank the HRSNA for the support they have given us today for this special occasion. We cannot emphasize enough that every Sailor of the Year is a winner here. All are super Sailors out there doing a great job. We all appreciate the contributions you and your families have given to defending our nation on a daily basis."

The gala and boisterous event was punctuated with levity, as winners of some door prizes were greeted with friendly chides, hisses and congratulatory slaps on the back. But before the much- anticipated winners of the grand prizes, two cutlasses, were announced, last year’s SURFLANT and Atlantic Fleet Sea Sailor of the Year was introduced.

"Without the support of organizations like the Surface Navy Association, programs like Sailor of the Year wouldn’t exist. We would really like to say thanks," said HMC(SW/FMF) William J. Burrell, who currently works as special assistant to the Fleet Master Chief.

And came the announcement , "winners of the two cutlasses are CMDCM (SW) Ronnie Moore and DK1(SW) James Prior."

Some surface warriors departed the three-hour social disappointed in not winning one of the cutlasses, but all left knowing it was a great day for the surface Navy and the Surface Navy Association.

Capt. Cameron Ingram, Chief of Staff, Commander Naval Surface Force, U.S. Atlantic Fleet (COMNAVSURFLANT) and President, Hampton Roads Chapter Surface Navy Association (HRSNA), Capt. (USNR Ret.) Fred Berck, Treasurer, HRSNA, and FORCM James Monroe, Force Master Chief, COMNAVSURFLANT and a member on the SNA National Board of Directors, with the cutlass grand prize winners, DK1(SW/AW) James H. Prior, Sailor of the Year from Personnel Support Detachment, Corpus Christi, Texas, and CMDCM(SW) Ronnie Moore, USS COLE (DDG 67) Command Master Chief..