List of Awards



Admiral Zumwalt Award for Visionary Leadership

Arleigh Burke Operational Excellence

CAPT Raymond A. Komorowski Photography Award

Surface Warfare Hall of Fame

Expert Shiphandler Award

Master Gunner George Sirian Meritorious Service Award

Naval War College Surface Navy Association Award
Old Salt
Old Tar
RADM Herbert E. Schonland Award for Excellence in Damage Control
Recruit Division Commander of the Year Award
Recruiter of the Year Grant
Sailors of the Year
Senior Enlisted Academy Naval Heritage Award
Special Recognition
Stephen Decatur, Jr.
Support of Chapter Awards Program
Surface Force Independent Duty Corpsman of the Year Award
Surface Navy Literary Award
Surface Warfare Historical Remembrance
United States Naval Academy YP Squadron Commodore Award
Chapter Membership Excellence Award
CMC/Senior Chief Recognition Award

The Surface Navy Association maintains a dynamic awards program to award our Sailors, Cuttermen, Dependents, future Sailors and Civilian military supporters through a wide spectrum of opportunities to include recognition and monetary awards.  Recognition takes place annually with major awards presented at the Annual Symposium held in Alexandria, VA.  These awards recognize some members of our community whose achievements, in a variety of pursuits, have warranted individual recognition for their contribution to the legacy of Surface Warriors. These individuals are not the complete list of those worthy of such recognition. They, in a sense, are representative of all of our heroes, past and present, who have served their Navy and their nation in the surface ships of the Fleet. These awardees have, however, distinguished themselves as being exceptionally worthy representatives of that larger list, and exemplify the qualities that have marked the Surface Warrior over our history.

View 2015 SNA VADM Robert L. Walters Scholarship Winners here.


2015 SNA National Symposium Awardees

Admiral Arleigh Burke Surface Warfare Excellence Award
 LCDR James Drennan, USN
LT Christopher Hayes, USN
OS1(SW) John P. Casas, USN
OS2(SW) Johnnie E. Eslinger, USN

Admiral Zumwalt Award for Visionary Leadership
GSE2 (SW) Ginai Little, USN
BMC(SW) Derek Strickland, USN

Naval Surface Forces Shiphandler of the Year Award
LT Erik Guiremand, USN
LTJG Chris Mikell, USN

Surface Force Independent Duty Corpsman of the Year Award
HM1(SW/FMF) Andrew T. Wemlinger, USN
(SW/AW) Todd A. Burkholder, USN

Captain Raymond Komorowski Photography Award
First Place Operations and Grand Prize:
MIDN Miguel Mirano
First Place Ships:
CAPT Robert Lang, USN (Ret)
First Place Personal Interest:
MC2 Matthew Dickinson , USN

Special Recognition Awards
CAPT Henry (Jerry) Hendrix II, USN (Ret)
Mr. David W. McComb
HMCM(SW/FMF) Patrick Modglin, USN (Ret)
VADM Phillip Quast, USN (Ret)

Surface Navy Literary Award
LT Lawrence Heyworth,USN

Surface Warfare Historical Recognition
"Battle of Lake Champlain"

2015 Grand Prize Winner
CAPT Raymond A. Komorowski Photo Award

Surface Navy Association

6551 Loisdale Court, Suite 222

Springfield, VA  22150